Summer Tunes

This is my first post about music on the blog, and I do not think there could be a more fitting topic than the band Spoon. This band has been my favorite for nearly ten years. After taking a three-ish year hiatus and embarking on some side projects (see: Divine Fits), Spoon has come back together to record They Want My Soul, due to be released on August 5. I am so giddy, I am currently listening to this awesome interview Britt Daniel and Jim Eno recently did with NPR’s All Songs Considered…on repeat. No lie.

Spoon will be performing in Chicago for Lollapalooza this year. I do not have tickets to Lolla, so fortunately they will be doing an after-show at Metro, which I plan to attend. You can bet I am starting an official countdown to August 5!

Also, P and I purchased The Black Keys’ latest, Turn Blue, this weekend as an anniversary gift to each other. We have yet to make time to listen to it in its entirety, but I plan to do so in the next couple of days.

I cannot explain how ecstatic I am that two of my most beloved bands have released new music just in time for the summer. Finally, I am showing signs of my former (pre-sinus-and-trigeminal-nerve-issues) self by feeling cheery, giddy, and excited about one of my oldest and strongest passions: music.

Leave a Reply

