Travelogues: Houston, Easter Weekend

P and I traveled to Houston for Easter weekend to spend time with my family. It was so nice to get out of town for a few days and enjoy warmer weather. Traveling is always exciting, but it always seems to bring me a bit of anxiety. Lately with my increased bouts of pain and panic attacks, I have not been wanting to get out of my comfort zone all that much. Despite the fact that we were going to visit my family (and I was super thrilled!), I still worried. And felt anxious. And panicked. We had to board Theodore, which I really dislike doing. He does not do well at the vet–so much so that the vet has prescribed him a sedative to administer before vet appointments. Anxious kitty equals anxious kitty mom. Fortunately, P kindly dropped Theo off so I would not have to deal with the emotion (read: have my heart broken upon leaving Theo at the front desk). Rationally, I know something like this should not upset me as much as it does; Theo has boarded with the vet several times before and always survives just fine. Anyway, I digress…

While we were in Houston, I enjoyed a little shopping with my mom, lots of quality time with my brothers and dad, and I got to see P relax like he has not been able to in quite a while. It was glorious. I even got to spend time with and get a massage from my friend and favorite massage therapist!

Easter Sunday was beautiful: the weather, the company, the Mass. Mom and I had some devotional time. Sadly, I had a pretty bad panic attack toward the end of brunch. My body was telling me it needed rest. I was able to enjoy a delicious home cooked dinner with my family after napping for a while and getting through the exhaustion caused by the attack.

I am so grateful P and I were able to spend this time in Houston with family. Our next visit will be in just one month, as the twins graduate from high school. Unbelievable!

20140429-085737.jpg

My childhood sanctuary.

20140429-085747.jpg

Mom and I enjoying a meal al fresco on Good Friday.

Leave a Reply

