In Which I Create a Blog

This is the first post of my new blog, “Living in Stitches.” (Bear with me, as I sometimes state the obvious.) I have been mulling over the idea of writing on a public platform (okay, specifically a blog…) for several months now, and finally decided to pull the trigger last week. And while all of that is well and good, it took me what felt like FOREVER to come up with a name for this blog. I wanted a witty name–something I felt comfortable with and could be proud of, but also containing multiple meanings. I struggled and brainstormed and struggled some more until my husband, Paul, suggested I write my first post to see if I could get inspiration for the title that way. Challenge accepted! I made up my mind to think of a name for the blog before the end of the day. Minutes later, the fog in my brain cleared and it came to me: “Living in Stitches.”

Why “Living in Stitches,” you ask? Well, the significance of it is complex. First of all, I feel laughter is sometimes the best medicine and, ideally, would love to live in a fit of laughter. Over the past eighteen months, I have experienced a number of significant health issues and feel I am now beginning to turn a corner in terms of healing. However, during that year and a half, I felt as though I was living in stitches–bound by my poor health. And finally, there is the literal meaning of “living in stitches”–I am learning (and loving!) the craft of knitting.

While the precise topic list for the blog remains a work-in-progress, I can say with certainty that I plan to write about my journey to improved health (mind, body and soul altogether); my passion for books, music, paper, organizing, writing and, of course, knitting; my faith and ongoing quest to get to know Jesus Christ; and, occasionally, my experience as a newlywed setting down roots in the city of Chicago. My hope is that, with time, I will be able to provide you with an ounce of inspiration, encouragement, and laughter from my new little corner of the internet, and that you will join me in living in stitches.

Leave a Reply

